Blogging with Beverly

Below is my interview with Beverly Bateman:  (http://beverleybateman.blogspot.ca/)

JL Regan Talks About Reviews                                    cropped-secretdesires_ebook_final11-20162.jpg

This week we’re going to find out a little about author Joan Ramirez who writes as J.L. Regan. Joan will be talking about reviews. She’ll also tell us a little about herself and her writing, and answer some fun questions.

J.L. Regen’s book was inspired by a real life story of lovers who join hearts against many odds. She lives in the New York metropolitan area, is a published photojournalist, has short suspense stories online, and has taught special education and English as a Second Language to students around the globe. This is her first contemporary romance. She has also published three nonfiction books. Beverley: How important are reviews for your book? Joan: Reviews are important because they give me an idea of what to take out or put in for next novel. Beverley: How do you get reviews? Joan: I get reviews by posting my novel to book-related sites and doing as much live promo as I can Beverley: Do you pay for reviews? Joan: I do not pay for reviews Beverley: How many reviews does an author need? Why? Joan: An author needs good reviews –as many as possible. They build motivation. Beverley: If you get a bad review, how do you handle it? Joan:  I would hope not to get many bad reviews Beverley: Anything else you’d like to add on the importance of interviews? Joan: Interviews tell readers about my book Beverley: Which genre or genres do you write or prefer to write? Joan: I prefer romantic suspense Beverley: What prompted you to write in the genre/s you do? Joan: I’ve always wanted to write a romance and this was partly based on a true story Beverley: What genres do you enjoy reading? Joan: I enjoy suspense and historical Beverley: I’d love to hear what you think of the present genres, how they’ve been affected by self-publishing and where you think they might be headed. Joan: I think genres are an acquired taste and self-published books are growing rapidly Beverley: How long have you been writing? Joan: I have been writing since I’m 12 when I submitted my first published piece Beverley: Who influenced you the most in deciding to become a writer? Joan: My Mom influenced me most Beverley: What obstacles did you have to overcome to begin creating your work? Joan: Obstacles–learning the genre, of course Beverley: What gets your creative juices flowing? Joan: I get my creative juices flowing every morning but kids I teach motivate me re children’s books, which I’m now getting into more and more Beverley: What will stop your creative muse the quickest? Joan: Nothing stops my creative muse Beverley: What do you have for breakfast? Joan: I eat tea, toast, and cheese Beverley: Where do you do most of your writing? Joan: I write from my home Beverley: Do you have a favorite cartoon character? Why? Joan: Yes, Betty Boop. She’s cool Beverley: Who would you love most to meet ‘in person’ and why? Joan: I would loved to have met Eleanor Roosevelt. My hero Beverley: If you had an unexpected free day what would you do with it? Joan: When I have free time, I write and scout out ideas for books Beverley: What are you working on now? Joan: I’m working on my first romantic suspense and my first historical suspense.

Buy Link: For order on Amazon and Barnes & Noble (E-book format. ISBN:97809984099-0-0)  You can find Joan at:

Website: Joansbookshelf.com And Writerjr1044@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

